Tanzania Revenue Authority (TRA) Jobs May, 2023


NECTA Grade A Teachers Certificate Examination (GATCE) Format

Share this

The National Examinations Council of Tanzania (NECTA) is Government Institution which was established by the Parliamentary Act No. 21 of 1973. NECTA is responsible for the administration of all National Examinations in Tanzania.

Table of Contents

NECTA Exam Formats

  1. Standard Four National Assessment (SFNA)
  2. Darasa La Nne
  3. Primary School Leaving Examination (PSLE)
  4. Form Two National Assessment (FTNA)
  5. Certificate of Secondary Education Examination (CSEE)
  6. Grade A Teachers Certificate Examination (GATCE)
  7. Diploma in Secondary Education Examination (DSEE)
  8. Diploma in Secondary Education in Special Needs Education (DSE-SNE) Examination

The decision to establish NECTA was a follow-up of an earlier move, in April 1971, when Tanzania Mainland pulled out of the East African Examinations Council (EAEC) to conduct her own examinations. Zanzibar pulled out of EAEC in 1970. Before the pull out, between 1968 and 1971, Tanzania sat for foreign Secondary School Examinations conducted jointly by the East African Syndicate, which before then were conducted by the Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate alone. The Examinations conducted by the Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate then were the School Certificate and the Higher School Certificate Examinations. The School Certificate Examinations was taken by the African Students for the first time in 1947 and that of the Higher School Certificate in 1960.

If you liked this article, then please subscribe to our FREE Job Alerts. You can also find us on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.
Share this
You cannot copy content of this page